Our Leaders

The Stone Institute is fortunate and honored to work with two of the industry's most esteemed professionals who have advanced the field of endourology for the better care of patients. Dr. Glenn M. Preminger and Dr. John D. Denstedt have helped shape the institute into a world-class training opportunity.

Glenn M. Preminger, MD

Dr. Glenn M. Preminger, also a founding member and an active participant of the Stone Institute, received his M.D. degree from New York Medical College in 1977. He completed his Urologic training at the University of North Carolina in 1983 and was an AUA Scholar (1983-1985) in the Division of Mineral Metabolism at UT Southwestern Medical Center. 

In 1993, Dr. Preminger returned to North Carolina as Professor of Urologic Surgery, Director of the Comprehensive Kidney Stone Center, and Director of the Urology Residency Program at Duke University Medical Center. His clinical interests include the minimally invasive management of urinary tract stones including shock wave lithotripsy, percutaneous and ureteroscopic stone removal.

Dr. Preminger has published more than 350 manuscripts, 100 book chapters and 9 books, as well as 30 videos that review complex endoscopic techniques. He is a member of 15 professional societies and holds Editorial positions with UROLOGY, the JOURNAL OF ENDOUROLOGY and UROLOGICAL RESEARCH.

He has served as Co-Chairman of VIII International Symposium on urolithiasis (1996), Co-Program Chairman of the 16th and 25th World Congress on Endourology (1998 & 2007), and Co-Chairman of the 1st and 2nd International Consultations on Stone Disease (2001 & 2007).

He is the previous Chairman of the American Urological Association (AUA) Nephrolithiasis guidelines Panel, which released four sets of guidelines for the management of staghorn calculi (1994, 2004) and ureteral calculi (1997, 2007). In 2004, he was the Co-Chairman of the joint AUA/EAU International Nephrolithiasis Guidelines Panel.

John D. Denstedt, MD

Dr. John Denstedt, an early founding member of the Stone Institute, graduated from medical school at The University of Western Ontario in London, Canada. He completed his residency in Urology at Western University between 1983 and 1987 followed by a fellowship in Endourology under Dr. Ralph Clayman at Washington University in St. Louis. He returned to London and joined the Division of Urology in the Department of Surgery at Western in 1990.

In July 2003, he assumed the role of City-Wide Chair and Chief of the Department of Surgery at The University of Western Ontario, and was re-appointed in 2008 for another 5-year term. In October 2012, he was appointed Special Advisor to the Dean of the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry on Health Globalization, Internationalization and Simulation.

In May 2013, Dr. Denstedt joined the Board of Directors of the American Urological Association, becoming the 3rd Canadian in the organization’s history to do so. Dr. Denstedt is currently the immediate Past Chair of the Canadian Association of Surgical Chairs.

While maintaining an active clinical practice, Dr. Denstedt is an internationally renowned scholar in urology with career accomplishments encompassing over 175 publications; more than 200 guest professorships in countries throughout the world; and numerous honours and awards including being the first Canadian to have won the Gold Cystoscope Award from the American Urological Association (AUA).

Dr. Denstedt’s research interests include minimally invasive surgery; urolithiasis; biomaterials; and urinary tract infection. With a specific interest in surgical education, he has participated in the development and validation of computer based surgical simulators, which help train the next generation of surgeons. He serves on the Editorial Board of seven journals in Urology and is currently Managing Editor of the Journal of Endourology.